Biography

Music critics praise her “polyphonic clarity”, her “singing tone and sensual sonorities” (Fono Forum), her “wholehearted musical empathy” (Piano News), her “mastery in terms of musical expression” and her “superior art of balancing extremes” (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung). The international press highlights her “stunning dynamics and unconventional ideas” (Pizzicato) and finds that “her performance, freer than many other more severely metronomic offerings, is masterly” (Gramophone).

In 2003 she followed in the footsteps of the likes of András Schiff, Murray Perahia and Boris Berezovsky by winning the Silver Medal at the renowned Leeds International Pianoforte Competition. Audiences acclaim and critics unanimously praise her strong personality and fruitful musical imagination, the variety of tone colors and animated counterpoint revealed in her playing, her sense of architectural balance and her command of a work’s entire structure. Rubinova’s CD’s, published by EMI, AvI and Telos, have been given the highest marks by the international musical press.

In recent appearances she has performed with the London Philharmonic Orchestra and Vladimir Jurowski, the Hallé Orchestra and Sir Mark Elder, the Russian National Philharmonic under Vladimir Spivakov, the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, the Orchestra of Opera North in Leeds, Ensemble Orchestral de Paris, Vienna Chamber Orchestra, the Berliner Symphoniker (in a concert in Tokyo) and, in Lima, with Ciudad de los Reyes, the leading Peruvian orchestra. Rubinova has also given solo piano recitals at Wigmore Hall, at the Beijing National Centre for the Performing Arts, in New York, Washington DC, Chicago, Paris, and Zurich.

In Germany, Evgenia Rubinova has made appearances at the Konzerthaus in Dortmund, the Rheingau Music Festival, the Ruhr Piano Festival, the Kissingen Summer Festival, and three times at the Philharmonie in Berlin (including a concert with the Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra). She has also performed with the Gürzenich Orchestra at Cologne Philharmonie, at the Stuttgart Liederhalle with that city’s Radio Symphony Orchestra, at Frankfurt Alte Oper with the Frankfurt Museum Orchestra and the Deutsche Streicherphilharmonie, at Munich Gasteig with the Münchner Symphoniker, and with the Bavarian Chamber Philharmonic at the German Mozart Fest. She has given solo piano recitals at venues such as the Tonhalle in Düsseldorf, the Beethovenhaus in Bonn, and at the radio broadcast auditoriums of Bremen (RB) and Mainz (SWR).

Rubinova has also amassed years of chamber music experience – for instance in her musical partnership with oboist Albrecht Mayer.

After her latest release on the Telos label – Beethoven’s piano sonatas op. 106 and 109 – further CDs featuring Beethoven solo piano repertoire are in the making.

Biografie

Gerühmt wird ihre „kontrapunktische Klarheit“ und ihr „kantabeles und äußerst klangsinnliches“ Spiel (Fono Forum), ihr „emphatisches Einfühlungsvermögen“ (Piano News), ihre „Souveränität im musikalischen Ausdruck“ (Rondo) und eine „überlegene Balance der Extreme“ (FAZ). Die internationale Presse hebt „stunning dynamics and unconventional ideas“ (Pizzicato) hervor und befindet: „her performance, freer than many other more severly metronomic offerings, is masterly“ (Gramophone).

Beim renommierten Klavierwettbewerb in Leeds, zu dessen Preisträgern zuvor auch Andras Schiff, Murray Perahia und Boris Berezovsky zählten, wurde die Pianistin Evgenia Rubinova 2003 mit der Silbermedaille ausgezeichnet. Vom Publikum wird sie bejubelt und von der Presse einhellig gelobt für ihre starke Persönlichkeit und musikalische Vorstellungskraft, für ihre farbige Klanggebung und lebendige Polyphonie und für ihren architektonischen Blick auf das Werkganze. Ihre CDs, die bei EMI, AVi und Telos erschien, erhielten international beste Kritiken.

Evgenia Rubinova musizierte zuletzt u. a. mit dem London Philharmonic Orchestra unter Vladimir Jurowski, dem Hallé Orchestra unter Sir Mark Elder, der Russischen Nationalphilharmonie unter Vladimir Spivakov, dem Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, dem Orchestra of Opera North in Leeds, dem Ensemble Orchestral de Paris, dem Wiener Kammerorchester, in Tokio mit den Berliner Symphonikern und in Lima mit dem Orquesta de la Ciudad de los Reyes, dem führenden peruanischen Orchester. Klavierabende spielte sie außerdem bereits in der Londoner Wigmore Hall, im National Centre for the Performing Arts in Peking, in New York, Washington, Chicago, Paris und Zürich.

In Deutschland trat Evgenia Rubinova im Konzerthaus Dortmund, beim Rheingau Musik Festival, beim Klavierfestival Ruhr und beim Kissinger Sommer sowie bereits dreimal in der Berliner Philharmonie auf, unter anderem mit dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin. Sie debütierte außerdem mit dem Gürzenich-Orchester Köln in der Kölner Philharmonie, mit dem Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart in der Stuttgarter Liederhalle, mit dem Frankfurter Museumsorchester und der Deutschen Streicherphilharmonie in der Frankfurter Alten Oper, mit den Münchner Symphonikern in der Münchner Philharmonie am Gasteig sowie mit der Bayerischen Kammerphilharmonie beim Deutschen Mozartfest. Recitals gab Evgenia Rubinova u. a. bereits in der Düsseldorfer Tonhalle, im Bonner Beethovenhaus, im Sendesaal von Radio Bremen und beim SWR in Mainz.

Langjährige Erfahrungen hat Evgenia Rubinova auch im kammermusikalischen Bereich, unter anderem durch ihre Zusammenarbeit mit dem Oboisten Albrecht Mayer.

Nach der Aufnahme von Beethovens Klaviersonaten op. 106 und 109 sind weitere CDs mit Werken von Beethoven bei Telos in Vorbereitung.

Januar 2016